Vietnamese Pork Chops with Pickled Watermelon Salad

photo 1 (4)

This recipe was adapted from the August issue of Bon Appetit magazine.

http://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/vietnamese-pork-chops-with-pickled-watermelon

This was the first time I have pickled watermelon. I can’t say I was a big fan. The flavors were a little overwhelming. Too much vinegar, I think. Anyway, the pork was delicious. I went against the traditional “purist” way and used my gas grill. I think the Grill Gods were forgive me, because I got a near-perfect char on the pork and the overnight marinade gave it great flavor. The flash-fried shallot on top may have been the best part!

Happy cooking and eating! 

Leave a Reply

